Class Guilds

I’ve been taking a look at different organizations in my campaign world recently – it all started when my players asked me for a bank or other solution for storing excess money. I’m not a big fan of this, and I’d rather see them spend their money, but I also believe in taking your players’ wishes seriously so I made some outlines for a punishingly expensive way of storing excessive wealth…

Working out the quick details about the bank, my rogue player asked me “well, what if I wanted to keep my money with the thieves’ guild?”. Part of his back story was that he was an actual member of the local guild, but we hadn’t determined anything about it yet. It was a good idea, however, and I let him use his guild as a bank at a lower rate.

The whole thing got me thinking, and also reminiscing about old computer games and adventures – where are the Fighter’s Guild and Mage’s Guild? I guess they fell by the wayside somewhere along with actually speaking of character class in-game, but I still love the concept. I started tinkering with the idea, and developed a few concepts for what these guilds might be and what benefits they might offer to members.

My first is a take on the Fighter’s Guild; the Condumbra, an association for mercenaries and sell-swords meant mostly to take contracts and ensure that contracts are honored in a realm where the rule of law is not always a given. It is also a primary source for armed hirelings for characters, and membership ensures that you can recruitthese more effectively.

You can take a look at the Fighter’s Guild PDF here, or find it in the Library.

The Oath of the Guild is “borrowed” word-for-word from the beautiful and simple hireling rules written by Telecanter on his blog, and the rules for hirelings are also heavily inspired by his system.

One thought on “Class Guilds

  1. I used to play The Fantasy Trip (In the Labyrinth) and it had class guilds in a way (TFT doesn’t have classes): the Wizard’s Guild, the Thieve’s Guild, the Scholar’s Guild, the Mercenaries Guild, and the Mechanician’s Guild (makers of complex machinery, such as siege engines and elaborate traps). Each had things they could provide to their membership. The Mercenaries Guild is basically a pre-paid convalescent and retirement home with medical and rehabilitation professionals available. They also provide these services to non-guildsmen for a price, and many guild halls provide the best medical care generally available to the public.

    I like the idea of using the guild system to hold cash, for a fee.

Leave a Reply

