Delving in the Dale

I’ve decided to start this unassuming blog about my OSR escapades mostly for myself; I enjoy writing, and I find that it helps me focus my thoughts. An archive of thoughts, ramblings and house rules is also always fun to have, and should it prove an interesting read for anyone else… well, no harm done!

About a year ago, I found a copy of Lamentations of the Flame Princess sitting on a shelf in one of the local gaming stores in my native Stockholm. Having spent a lot of time playing both editions of AD&D as well as some D&D growing up, I had something of a shock when I picked it up and started reading – is it still OK to play this way? I’m sure many readers are familiar with the wave of nostalgia that washed over me.

Needless to say, I bought that copy and went home to read it. Mr Raggi’s narrative is a very fun read, although I’m glad it wasn’t my first time around or it might have felt a bit overwhelmed. Things were, however, still the way I remembered them. I downloaded a number of other “Retro Clones”, among them Labyrinth Lord, OSRIC, Swords & Wizardry and Dungeon Crawl Classics, but with time it turned out I had struck gold the first time around.

After a bit of planning I had my starting point; a “gaming world” described with nothing more than a hex map and a short description of some of its major religions, and a slightly more detailed description of a place called Windfare Dale. I was ready to try out this crazy old-school on my players – a group of complete rookies in the RPG world as well as veterans of many game systems but newcomers to classic Dungeon Delving!

Leave a Reply

